Changes to the school day from September 2016

The government is encouraging schools to extend the length of the day. Whilst we need to be mindful of this, we hope that a balanced approach will give students who need additional support to meet the requirement of forthcoming examinations and coursework the greatest help when they need it the most. The governing body has therefore approved the following changes to the school day:

The school day (compulsory)

Year 7 - Week 1 and 2

Monday – Friday: 8.40am – 3.00pm

Year 8 - Week 1 and 2

Monday – Friday: 8.40am – 3.00pm

Year 9 - Week 1 and 2

Monday – Friday: 8.40am – 3.00pm

Year 10 - Week 1 and 2

Monday – Friday: 8.40am – 3.00pm

Year 11 - Week 1

Monday – Thursday: 8.40am – 4.00pm
Friday: 8.40am – 3.00pm

Year 11 - Week 2

Monday – Wednesday: 8.40am – 4.00pm
Thursday - Friday: 8.40am – 3.00pm

Year 12 - Week 1 and 2

Monday – Friday: 8.40am – 3.00pm*

Year 13 - Week 1 and 2

Monday – Friday: 8.40am – 3.00pm*

*Students in Year 12 and Year 13 should be prepared to stay in school until 4pm when required (e.g. to complete assessments or revision).

After-school activities (optional)

Optional classes and extra-curricular activities will take place Monday – Friday, 3.00pm – 4.00pm for students from all year groups.

Important calendar dates

Reception opening times during the summer holidays

Thursday 21 July 2016 - Friday 29 July 2016 inclusive

Reception open 9.00am - 3.00pm

Monday 1 August 2016 - Friday 12 August 2016 inclusive

Reception closed

Monday 15 August 2016 - Friday 2 September 2016 inclusive

Reception open 9.00am - 3.00pm (except Bank Holiday Monday 29 August 2016 when reception will be closed)

Arrangements for the start of Autumn Term 2016

Monday 5 September 2016

Inset day (school closed to all students)

Tuesday 6 September 2016

School open for Year 7 and Year 12 students only

Wednesday 7 September 2016

School open for students from all year groups

Provisional examination results

Thursday, 18 August, 2016

A-level results to students (from 9.00am)

Thursday, 25 August, 2016

GCSE results to students (from 9.00am)